Enrollment Policies & Procedures
Enrollment Policies & Procedures
The Policies and Procedures apply to all families whose children are enrolled in The Comenius School (TCS). Having signed the enrollment form (application), the families are acknowledging their responsibility to the umbrella program and obligate themselves to adherence to the policies and procedures.
Registration and Enrollment Procedures
- Complete and submit on-line application for enrollment, curriculum list, and appropriate fees. We strongly encourage you to be registered by the start date of your local school system. We have found that by doing this students are not considered truant by local school systems.
- Submit Official green Tennessee Child Health Record form if your child will be entering school for the first time (a kindergartner) or are entering a TN school for the first time (have moved from out of state). This form may be obtained from your doctor or County Health Dept. Parts I & II must be filled out. Part III of this form must be filled out only if your child is initially entering Tennessee schools (K-12). If your student will be transferring to TCS from another TN school, a green TN Child Health Record form is not needed. It will be transferred with other student records. If desired, a written statement explaining reasons for religious exemption from the requirement is permitted. If needed, please contact our office for an official exemption form.
- Begin counting school days toward attendance after your student has enrolled in our program. For example: You start home schooling your child August 1st but don’t submit your application with us until September 15th. Your attendance officially begins September 15th to fulfill the 180 day attendance requirement. This is true for returning students as well as new students. The only exemption to this requirement is if your student is a transfer student from a legal school. In that case, all days accrued in the previous school will be honored.
- Any student who has been withdrawn from or has not attended their previous school for more than five (5) consecutive school days before making application to FCSUP (TCS) will not be accepted.
- Teach the required 180 days of school with a minimum of 4 hours per day.
- Submit to TCS the Grade and Attendance Report as required (Jan. and June)*. These may be found on this website under Documents. We will not issue transcripts or release records if these are not on file.
- Our academic year runs from July 1 – June 30. All academic course work must be completed by June 30. If additional time is required to finish current academic course work, a summer school session must be used.
- Summer School registration is from June 1st – June 30th. Registration is by paper form and grades are submitted by August 15th on a paper grade form. Both are found in Renweb under Resource Documents
False information given in the enrollment form or any other report required by The Comenius School will result in immediate dismissal from the program.
Parent Directed Teaching
- TCS does require parents of 9-12th grade student to have a High School Diploma or GED.
- Parents are required to completely fill out and sign the Statement of Qualifications on the student application.
- In electing to homeschool, parents are knowingly and willingly participating in a parent directed education option. Ultimately, parents will be responsible for all the decisions pertaining to all academic choices, as well as compliance or non-compliance of TCS policies and procedures.
Official transcripts are provided for students in grades 9-12. Unofficial transcripts may be viewed via Renweb. If a student completes a recognized high school level course in one of the following subjects while enrolling in the 8th grade, that class will be included in the student’s transcript:
Foreign Language (Level I or higher)
Math (Algebra I or higher)
Science (Physical Science or higher)
- All requests must be made in writing using The Comenius School’s official request form. This form may be found on the website under Documents.
- If the student requesting a transcript or records release is 18 years old or older, he/she must sign the request. Transcripts and/or records will not be released without this signature.
Driver’s License Form SF 1010
Tennessee law requires Form SF1010 to be submitted with all students applying for a driver’s permit or license. The request for this form must be in writing and the student must have been enrolled for a minimum of 30 days.